Promoting all breeds of purebred dogs
Home            Training Classes            Breeder Referral            Our Club            Member Directory            Meeting Minutes            Brags             Contact Us

The Tennessee Valley Kennel Club was founded in 1934 to promote all breeds of purebred dogs by conducting competitive shows, events and public education under the rules of the American Kennel Club. 

We encourage good sportsmanship at every event and are advocates for canine health, canine good citizenship, responsible dog ownership, and ethical breeding practices.   

All our activities are designed to provide purebred dogs and their owners with engaging, lasting, and fun ways to celebrate the canine-human connection.

Club Members = 79

Voting Members = 12 + 63 = 75     Quorum = 75 x 0.20 = 15
  Lifetime (12)  General Membership (63)
Betty Abbott
Nan Anderson
Jaclyn Adkins
Catherine Bell
Becky Chittenden
Jean Dinkins
Phyllis  Fortune
Grant Howard
DruAnne Nutzell
David Porterfield
Susan Porterfield
Axel Ringe
Jeanne Ringe
Keith Bailey
Deborah Bailey
Karl Barth
Lois Biedron
Quinto Burchi
Donna Burchi
Dr. Carlyn Cahill
Shane Catalano
Susan Corum
Melissa Craft
Charmaine Daum
Elizabeth Davis
Melissa Engelking 
Connie Epp
Janis Flaherty
Erin Franco
Victor Franco
Julie Haase
Judy Hart
Debbie Hodges
Patricia Hodges

Maryellen Kasten
Cheryl Kienast
Judy Laureano
Ray Laureano
Erin Lonas
Gregg Lonas
Madeline Lonas

Bernadine Luketich
Dave Nutzell
Steve Merritt
Janice Morgan
Dave Nutzell
Cynthia Parker
Linda Pitts
Malinda Presson
Michael Presson
Carolyn Price
Gene Price
Cheryl Roach
Richard Roach
Amanda Ruelle
Ace Russell
Pat Ryea
Norma Scarlett
Gail Schroth
Larry Schroth
Greg Sinatro
Susan Sinatro

Amanda Skinner
Walter Sommerfelt
Carol Sommerfelt
Linda Stafford
Samatha Stafford
Pat Symons
Ruby Valentine *
Neena VanCamp
Richella Veatch
Kathleen Villers
Brenda Weeks
Mark Weeks
Beth White
T. J. Whitworth
Barbara Whitworth

Honorary (2)
Robert Abbott
Dawn Barrett
Paula Smiddy
Jan Swayze

* Ruby Valentine (voting member)

Junior (0) 

Scholarship (2)
D. Ross Ellis
Alyssa Helms



Officers and Board of Directors 

  President Walter Sommerfelt Board Members Melissa Craft
Vice President Janis Flaherty Susan Corum
  Recording Secretary Cheryl Kienast   Gregg Lonas
  Corresponding Secretary Erin Lonas   Carol Sommerfelt
  Treasurer Jean Dinkins   Debby Hodges
        Lois Biedron

AKC Representative

        Richella Veatch

Show Committee

Chairperson:  Carol Sommerfelt       Asst. Show Chairperson:  Janis Flaherty

Members:  Walter Sommerfelt

Judges Selection Committee 

Chairperson: Walter Sommerfelt

Members:  Janis Flaherty, Keith Bailey, Samatha Stafford, Richella Veatch, Cheryl Kienast

Show Trophies Committee

Chairperson:  Lois Biedron

Members:  Carol Sommerfelt, Janis Flaherty


Vendor Committee

Chairperson:  Quinto Burchi 423-371-8053


Agility Trial Committee 

Chair:  Richella Veatch

Members: Dawn Barrett, Jean Dinkins, Julie Haase, Ace Russell, Richella Veatch, Pat Ryea

Obedience / Rally Trial Committee 

Chair:  Richella Veatch


Meet the Breeds / RDO

Co-Chairs: Erin Lonas


Training Directors

Conformation / Puppy Kindergarten:  Janis Flaherty                Asst: Ruby Valentine

Agility / Obedience / Rally / STAR Puppy:  Ace Russell

Equipment Management


Budget / Audit Committee 


Nominating Committee 

Chair: Janis Flaherty

Members: Debby Hodges, Neena Van Camp, Keith Bailey, Erin Lonas


Other Roles and Responsibilities

Sunshine:  Jean Dinkins -  Please contact when you hear of members who are sick / hospitalized.  Note:  The club will send flowers in the event of the death of members or immediate family (parents, spouse, or child).

Webmaster:   Erin Lonas - Contact with news, events, and web updates. 

Club Awards:  Jeanne Ringe

Programs:  Susan Corum - Contact for ideas for future programs. 

Legislative Liaison: 



Home           Search Our Site          Site Map          Contact Us